Have a little faith 

I have always thought in any situation it’s best to start with trust. Let me explain… if I meet a new person, through work, kids, networking, etc… the person has my trust from the get go.  I figured out this can sometimes be confusing to people and it took me a few years to realize that not everyone else works this way.  So in my younger days, I was a bit timid, feeling different or perhaps naive for my way of thinking towards new relationships.  As I have reached my mid to now late 30’s, I lost a lot of that nervousness and started to trust myself and therefore my thought processes as well.  I realized if I was able to give someone else that trust, I should most definitely be giving it to myself and believe that my way of thinking is OK.   Once I was comfortable with trusting myself, a lot of things changed in my life for the better.  The most powerful was my development of faith.
By one definition the word faith means to ‘have complete trust on someone or something’ per my google search.  I felt the need to post the definition because I think it’s a word that gets thrown around a bit.  So what do I mean by ‘Have a little faith…’?  First and foremost, have a little faith in yourself first.  You are the only one who can feel your feelings and express your thoughts and make choices that reflect who you are in the world while not letting others influence or redirect who you want to be.  Now this sounds simple, but I personally have found this very challenging.  For a time I questioned all the major choices I had made, my degree in Engineering, where I chose to live, and even things like the music I liked.  Everyone has an opinion on how you should live your life, so being authentic and following your own path isn’t always easy.  Then when it comes to parenting decisions,work processes, or what to eat, the opinions of others can become overwhelmingly loud. While I value hearing another persons point of view, keeping my own values and thoughts as equally important took some time to develop.  

I continue to view myself as a work in process, no one has it all figured out, and we need to be kind to ourselves and keep the faith in ourselves through hard times and successes.  Sometimes I have noticed that success seems too sweet and self-sabotage can take over.  In those moments, taking a step back and remaining true to myself and trusting in my own thoughts and choices takes work and confidence. 


One thing my team and I talk about a lot at work is letting go.  It can be hard to let someone else take the reigns, to allow the picture of how you envisioned something to turn out, change and accept that…hey that’s even better then what I thought of!  So, when I first started working with my team it took some time for us to figure each other out.  I was and am a stickler for giving credit where it’s due and I am not sure they were used to that.  We are now, I feel, in a safe zone.  We can openly express our thoughts and feel comfortable doing so.  It requires nurturing and vulnerability, as I believe all relationships do, but in the end it’s worth it to see four very diverse people come together and accomplish great things.  I have faith in each one of them.


So in closing, I urge you all to have at least a little faith.  Faith in yourself first, don’t discount your own worth or decision making ability. Faith in those around you, if you start with trust you will be pleasantly surprised at how much life changes for the good.  It may not always be the easiest path, but I promise, it’s worth it.

Until next time ❤ thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

